

## **Council Agenda**

Title:

**Council Meeting** 

Meeting Date:

Wednesday 9th November, 2022

Time:

7.01 pm

Venue:

Westminster Council House, 97-113 Marylebone Road, London, NW1 5PT

Members:

All Councillors are hereby summoned to attend the Meeting for the transaction of the business set out.

In line with legislation Committee members will attend the meeting in person. This meeting will be live streamed through the Council's website.

Limited admission to the public gallery is available from 6.30pm. Please telephone if you are attending the meeting in a wheelchair or have difficulty walking up steps. There is wheelchair access via the Sammy Ofer Centre.

If you require any further information, please contact the Committee Officer, Janis Best, Committee and Councillor Support Manager.

Email: jbest@westminster.gov.uk Tel: 07971 920521

Corporate Website: www.westminster.gov.uk

## 1. NOTICE OF MOTION

Notion of Motion: Honorary Alderpeople: Mr Ian Adams, Mrs Susie Burbridge, Lady Christabel Flight, Mrs Angela Harvey, Mr Guthrie McKie, Ms Papya Qureshi, Ms Judith Warner

In accordance with Standing Order 4 (1) (c) we requisition that an Extraordinary Meeting of the City Council be held to consider the following Notice of Motion:

- (i) That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on:
  - (a) Mr Ian Adams who was first elected as a Westminster City Council in May 2002 and who retired in May 2022. He represented the wards of Little Venice and Hyde Park. He served in many roles including as Cabinet Member for Health & Adult Services and then Public Protection & Licensing. He was Lord Mayor in 2017 2018 and was the Council's Lead Member for LGBTQ+.
  - (b) Mrs Susie Burbridge served the people of Westminster for a total of 24 years, the first four years spent in Maida Vale and then until May 2022 in Lancaster Gate. She was passionate about her local community and championing their issues. She served in many roles, including licensing, planning, fostering, discretionary housing benefits, and had an enduring interest in housing. She served as Lord Mayor from 2011 2012.
  - (c) Lady Christabel Flight who was first elected as a Westminster City Councillor in May 2006 and retired in May 2022, a total of 16 years serving the residents of Warwick Ward. She was passionate about services for older people and was the founder of the nationwide Silver Sunday. She served as Lord Mayor in 2015 2016.
  - (d) Mr Guthrie McKie who was first elected as a Westminster City Councillor for Harrow Road ward in 2000 and retired in May 2022, a total of 22 years. He sat on a number of Policy and Scrutiny Committees in relation to housing and was a tireless campaigner for more social housing in the City.
  - (e) Ms Papya Qureshi who served as a member for the Westbourne ward from May 2006 until May 2022, a total of 16 years. She was an active and passionate member of the Discretionary Housing Payments panel and sat on various Policy & Scrutiny Committees.
  - (f) Ms Judith Warner who was first elected as a Westminster City Councillor for Hamilton Terrace in May 1984. She was elected to Abbey Road ward in 2002 and retired in May 2022, a total of 38 years. She served in many senior roles

including Chairman of the Housing Committee, Cabinet Member for the Environment and latterly chaired the Standards Committee. She served as Lord Mayor in 2010 – 2011.

- (ii) That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman on:
  - (a) Mrs Angela Harvey served on the Council from 2002 to 2022. During her time her appointment included being Cabinet Member for Housing for four years; Chair of the Built Environment Policy & Scrutiny Committee for four years; the Chair/Vice-Chair of the Greater London Provincial Council for 17 years and Chair of Licensing. She was also a Night Time Commissioner. She was the Diamond Jubilee Lord Mayor in 2012 – 13, her Consort being her husband Cllr David Harvey.

Over the years they have contributed so much to the work of the Council through their caring personality, wisdom, knowledge and vast experience between them undertaking the various roles of Members of numerous committees. They have served the Council and people of Westminster and in particular their constituents with enormous dedication and the Council is asked to agree that they each be honoured by the conferring of the title Honorary Alderman/Woman.

(iii) That the Council instruct the Chief Executive to make the necessary arrangement for the preparation and presentation of an address to the Honorary Alderpeople and authorise that the minor necessary expenditure be met from existing budgets.

Signed by Councillors: Adam Hug, Aicha Less, Tim Roca, Rachael Robathan, Tim Mitchell, Matt Noble and Paul Swaddle.

Note by the Director of Law:

- (i) The above Motion must be adopted by not less than two thirds of the Members voting.
- (ii) The Local Government Act 1972 empowers the City Council "by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specifically convened for the purpose with notice of the object to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members of that Council but who are not then Councillor of the Council".
- (iii) The Act provides that an Honorary Alderpeople "may attend and take part in such civic ceremonies as the Council may from time to time decide". An Honorary Alderman/Woman does not have any statutory rights, as such, to attend Council or Committee meetings.

64 Victoria Street London, SW1E 6QP 1 November 2022

**Chief Executive**